CleanYourCar
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 2:25 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 3:18 pm 
Sponge

Afternoon guys,

As my title suggests I am very new to the world of machine polishing. So much so that I haven't bought the polishing machine yet but it is imminent. I was just hoping for some information before I make the purchase.

Firstly I will be getting a Dual Action polisher however what other bits do I actually need to start with? There seems to be lots of products and bundles out there but are they all needed?

Secondly how do you go about machine polishing? How much polish is applied to the pad and do you keep going until it has polished off or do you stop, let it haze, then buff off with another clean pad?

As you can tell I am very new to this and have read some posts in the forum but none that I have found yet explain it to me in simple enough details. I hope one or two of you guys could help and point me in the right direction.

My car in question is an Audi S4 Black Edition in Ibis White. No paint issues apart from a few light swirls that I believe to be from the previous owner.

Many thanks and hope to get to grips with this shortly :D :oops:

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 5:05 pm 
Welcome to the CYC Forum.

I'm pleased that you have asked plenty of sensible questions BEFORE you went ahead and bought anything. Plenty of costly errors in selection are easily made.

Lets firstly look at the paint preparation before considering polishing:

Shampoo wash, using 2 buckets and wash mitts and grit guards.

De-tar

Iron fallout remover

Clay Bar/clay mitt.

Microfibre drying towel.

Once all this is done, you will see the actual state of the paintwork to be polished.